Dressler scholarship winners announced

By Cecilia Nasmith

The annual Marie Dressler scholarship awards will be presented Saturday morning, with four students receiving $1,000 awards.

St. Mary Secondary School graduates Ava Bogyay and Juliette Sinnott as well as Campbellford District High School graduate Olivia Raposo will receive the 2019 Student Bursary awards, with Cobourg Collegiate Institute graduate Andrew Atanasoff receiving the 2019 Bill Patchett Devotion To Community Award.

The Marie Dressler Foundation, a registered charity, has been active for 25 years in assisting graduating students from across Northumberland County who are accepted for enrollment in full-time studies in performing and visual-arts programs with Student Bursaries.

A more recent addition to the award list is the Bill Patchett award, recognizing a bursary winner who additionally has exhibited exceptional contributions to the community.

“The bursaries are made possible through the generosity of our volunteers, sponsors, donors and patrons of the annual Vintage Film Festival and our other fund-raising events,” foundation chair and president Rick Miller said in the press release.

The four students will gather for the presentation at 10 a.m. Saturday at Dressler House – the birthplace of Oscar-winning actress Marie Dressler, located at 212 King St. W., Cobourg.