Inaugural Meeting Of New Port Hope Council

By Brian Coggins

At the Inaugural Meeting of Port Hope Council on December 4th,  Mr. Justice Alan P Ingram swore in each newly elected member of Council and the Mayor. Brian Gilmour, the Municipal Clerk, presented Mayor Sanderson with the Chain of Office.

The new council is made up of Ward One Councillors Les Andrews, Laurie Carr, Jeff Lees, and Wendy Meadows,  Ward Two Councillors John Bickle and Vicki Mink, and Mayor Robert Sanderson.

Les Andrews was unanimously appointed Deputy Mayor for the term of this Council.

Mayor Sanderson and Deputy Mayor Andrews will meet between now and the next Council meeting on December 15th to appoint Councillors to their new portfolios which will be announced at this meeting.

A reception for the new Council was held following the meeting.