Cobourg calls for Civic Awards nominations

By Cecilia Nasmith

Organizers of the Town of Cobourg’s 18th annual Civic Awards ceremony have issued a call for nominations to recognize local residents who have helped to benefit the community through outstanding volunteerism and community involvement.

The deadline for nomination submissions is Feb. 15, and brochures containing criteria and a nomination form can no be found at the municipal office (Victoria Hall, 55 King St. W.), the Cobourg Community Centre (750 D'Arcy St.) and the Cobourg Public Library (200 Ontario St.). Forms can also be downloaded from the site.

The awards ceremony – this year on April 10 at 7 p.m. – is always a big occasion in the Victoria Hall Concert Hall. Former Deputy Mayor John Henderson stated in the town's press release how much he is looking forward to attending his first such ceremony as mayor.

“Coming together to honour and validate the many volunteers within our town has always been a highlight of the year within the community,” Henderson stated.

“I encourage you to nominate a deserving volunteer today.”

The master of ceremonies at the April 10 event will be Art Gallery of Northumberland executive director Olinda Casimiro.

“I am thrilled to represent the AGN and act as MC for the annual Civic Awards,” Casimiro said.

“They are well attended by the community, and speak volumes of the civic pride that exists in Cobourg.”

There are many opportunities to nominate a deserving volunteer for a variety of different awards.

The Angus and Bernice Read Volunteer Award (named in honour of a former Cobourg mayor) is presented to an individual whose volunteerism, leadership, commitment and actions have improved the quality of life for a large spectrum of the Cobourg population (for an individual with a minimum of five years volunteer service).

A youth volunteer is recognized with the Outstanding Youth award, presented to an individual who has made an outstanding volunteer contribution to the community and their school - and who is 19 years of age or younger as of December 31 of the year of nomination.

The Outstanding Senior award is for an individual aged 65 years or older as of Dec. 31 of the year of nomination and who has made an outstanding volunteer contribution to the community.

The Bravery Award goes to an individual who has displayed courage and heroism beyond the call of duty in the face of danger in order to save others from harm.

The Arts and Culture Award is presented to an individual or group who has accomplished an outstanding achievement or achievements in the community within the arts.

The Sportsmanship Award recognizes a coach, official or sports organizer who has shown outstanding leadership in contribution to Cobourg's sports and recreational community.

The Layton Dodge Athletic Award is presented to an athlete who has contributed to Cobourg's athletic community in terms of ability, sportsmanship, participation and leadership.

The Environmental Award honours an individual or group that has made a significant contribution to conserve, protect, restore, maintain, improve, enhance or promote a healthy environment.

The Heritage Award is for an individual or group that has demonstrated an outstanding contribution to the conservation and/or promotion of the town's cultural-heritage resources.

The Lloyd C. Stinson Memorial Award for Community Service is presented to a Cobourg resident who has performed outstanding charitable works for those in need, the aged, youth or those living with disabilities.

Distinguished Civic Awards are also offered, distinct from the other awards in that they recognize specific contributions made during the past year (and may be awarded to groups as well as individuals). Nomination for this award does not exclude the recipient from being eligible for one of the other individual awards.

Longtime committee chair Karen Chalovich has announced that the theme for the 18th annual Cobourg Civic Awards is Arts & Culture.

“We would like to encourage Cobourg’s many cultural organizations to nominate dedicated individuals who selflessly volunteer their time to make our community rich and vibrant,” Chalovich said.

The Civic Awards Committee thanks the generous Gold sponsors of this event - BMO Nesbitt Burns (Karen Chalovich), RBC Wealth Management (Lynn Hardy), Rotary Club of Cobourg and the Town of Cobourg - for their continued support of this event.

For more information on the awards and categories for nomination please visit The committee invites citizens to help spread the word and nominate someone who is deserving of one of these great awards.